I’ve been quiet for a while…

A couple of weeks ago my job laptop broke down. Standard procedure, you’d think – me, I thought I’d be up and running again in a day or so, cursing the bad timing, as I had multiple deliveries to meet. In reality it took about a week, a week filled with non-existent communication, loads of angry phone calls… Because the hard disk had gone to smokes, and before anyone could do anything the case had to be released from the Bangalore service desk (remember, I’m in Sweden)… I’ll not go into detail but I was mightily upset. After two days of this it had been cheaper to go buy an new computer.
Ah well.

As you’ll understand it was a bit hectic, and then I was a way abroad, with excruciatingly slow internet connections and no great motivation to use them as weather was great, the pool was sweet and family demanding attention. And halfway through the stay I caught a tummy bug. Probably nothing special, but with no remedies in reach it took some time to recover. To make the proverbial long story a short one I ended up at the ER, at home in Sweden, diagnosed with malnutrition due to prolonged digestive problems. And I now know why undernourished people are late to protest their station. Because despite my case not being severe I spent one week listless and sleeping most of last week, only now regaining enough strength to actually DO something.

So. Have I read something during all of this? Yes, and I have a half-finished review of Guy G Kay’s Under Heaven around here somewhere, and I started Social Origins of Dictatorship and Democracy while still in Thailand. But that last week I felt too ill to manage that kind of book, and when I came home not feeling any better I brought Chanur with me to idle time away at the ER. And once I started it I had to read it all. Of course ;-)

Soon I’ll pick Social Origins… up again, and soon reviews and thoughts will start to appear here, again.

It’s good to be back!

Leave a Reply

