Savouring the flavour

Yesterday I chose my next read, a full day after I had finished Surface Detail. Have yet to start it.

Not because I’m not in the mood to read what I chose – no, I think it will fit well enough. It is rather that some books needs savouring, needs to develop their full taste before you add another flavour… or the experience is spoiled – too close and the read vanishes in a POOF! …as it had never happened.
And that is such a waste.

I love the books that do this to me, the books that challenges my brain, calling out for a duel, engages unexpected connections. So I’ll let the taste of Surface Detail linger on a few more hours, before taking on Umberto Eco’s Baudolino. I think.

Leave a Reply

